he said “I spoke to much”

My boyfriend and I recently had the famous conversation of recalling our first date. The awkwardness of meeting someone you never met before and the things you do that never seem to be a problem, until you reflect back on the situation.

I know, that when I get nervous I speak fast and I never seem to stop lol and my boyfriend caught onto to that too. In his words “I spoke to much” but, I guess it wasn’t a problem since we obviously went on more dates.

Until I found out, it kinda was. He said I spoke to much about other things, like school and my sorority. I gave him a look like, “well I didn’t know what to talk about.” and he responded, “Well, I wish you spoke more about yourself.”

There was no hard feelings to this conversation, It made me curious, I thought I was open, I thought I was giving him a fun inside look into what life was about.

In time we both started discovering things about each other and things are alright and we are together. It takes time to open up, but how do you? What do you talk about on a first date? Should you just talk about the normal things? or should it be a life story?

I always get confused on what should be talked about on a first date. If you talk to much about yourself, you come off as conceded, if you talk about other things in your life you might not be open enough. So what do you think? How do you balance both sides of yourself?

Leave a Reply

