Country music is no different

Moving to the north country has definitely opened my horizons to different types of music. I appreciate and love music, I have been playing the clarinet for 10 years, and I grew up with a huge range of music. From listening to KISS, Metallica, and Iron Maiden to Elton John, Madonna, and Fleetwood Mac.

Country music fans are the biggest and most loyal fan base. They will tell you all their love for country and how there is nothing like it. How different it is from all different types of genres.

Living in the suburbs of Long Island, country music has recently started to become a very popular genre of music. Country music has always been popular, but growing up on Long Island, I never really heard it as much, until I came to Plattsburgh. Like the old saying goes, “When in Rome, do what the Romans do.” I was surrounded by many popular country artist, Luke Bryant, Blake Shelton, Garth Brooks, and many more. I started listening to their songs, I enjoyed most of them, but when I think of country music, I think of the simple things in life that make life great, makes me you feel nostalgia.

I remember watching a documentary on HBO about country music and Nashville, Tennessee. The way they described country was that it was telling a story, once they said that. I looked up some old country songs, and forgot my love for Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, and Tammy Wynette. My mother grew up listening to those songs and I remember growing up listening to her sing those songs.

The songs had so much feeling and meaning, they told stories of experience, sad and happy times. It made you feel something. The problem with country music these days, it is literally pop music with a twang. I like pop music, it makes you dance it makes you feel good. Β Country music should be more than just pickup trucks, and getting drunk on Friday night’s football game.

Country music should have heart, and that is the problem with a lot of music. There is no heart, just lyrics, just how high someone can sing, the music industry has become the new Ford assembly line, just breaking out songs as fast as they can. The songs have no depth, you just see it as face value. I don’t like bashing something, that is a big part of my life, but I can’t help, but notice what is going on with music and country music is becoming the same. Just part of the big assembly line.

Leave a Reply

