initium

The old saying is, “People come and People go” now that I am almost done with my college career, I am looking back at old pictures and statues. I think about how I have changed as a person, and who I am ready to become once I set forth on this new journey of post-graduate life. It is scary to think that soon, my fellow colleagues and I, will be off doing our own thing in a few years. Who knows? maybe get married, start a business, travel across country, have kids, or maybe simply moving out of our parents house.

I remember there being a time when my friends and I would sit around at our sleepovers and how we couldn’t imagine not being able to see each other on the weekends. It was a thought that we never wanted to think about, and now we are living it and it is weird. Sometimes I feel we try to stop the inevitable, and that is moving on. Now that we are older, we each have our own responsibilities, we all started relationships, finishing/still/planning going to school, and my best friend just moved into her first and new apartment.

I seriously wish sometimes I can scream, “I DON’T WANT TO GROW UP!” and then just stop. Moments go by way to fast, and memories in a blink of an eye. The world is always going to keep spinning, and it is nights like tonight when I realize how fast it is really going. Life is meant to be experienced, and with experience only comes lessons learned and good stories to tell.

I think of all the good and bad that has happened in the past and I am humble. It stays in the past because something better is always waiting for us, and once you put it behind you, you are ready to move on from whatever is holding you back. It takes bad choices and mistakes, but eventually we learn and make it to the top. I don’t know how I am going to feel once, I am home for good, but I know it is just another chapter of my life closing and it is just time to turn the next page.

Leave a Reply

