First Week Blues

Anxious, nervous, excited, the unknown waiting to happen as I sat in the car with my parents waiting to see the big sign, WELCOME TO SUNY PLATTSBURGH. This semester is going to be a whirlwind of experiences, because it is my last semester at Plattsburgh, a place that I have called my home for five semesters now. It is depressing to think that this is it, soon real life will hit and I will venture out with just a diploma and resume in hand hoping someone or something will come out and reach out to me, so I can find my purpose in life. Instead of focusing on the future, I want to stop and focus what it is in front of me. The first week is always the longest, it is the pace you set yourself for the semester, but for me it is my last time experiencing everything the “first time”. I can say it is bittersweet. I bet whoever is reading, figured this would have been a normal post, about a typical first week, but my first week was letting everything overwhelm me in a good way. As seniors we all say “We will never accept leaving.” but, you eventually do, and when you come to those terms, just have a smile and remember all the good you have done and all the bad you are going to change once you go into that “unknown” because, you know better now.

I remember when graduating high school, we all lined up at the end of the building and as we started walking outside, a normal walk turned, slow motion as I made my way down the hallway looking at everything that had once been mine. Classrooms, bathrooms, labs, lockers, offices, and cafeterias, they all suddenly all became so distant, as I walked passed every one of them, but I knew I was leaving behind a good legacy of myself and that is what made it so great, because every inch of space of the building has a memory and as corny as it sounds, memories live on.

I believe that it is the fear, the fear of being forgotten. Now that the timing is so close, do you wonder, “Did I do enough?” but, even if you joined a million clubs or stayed in the comforts of your dorm or home. This is senior year! and this is your time to shine! I can say the first week blues for me, was a reminder that soon the time will run out, but just take in everything right now before that clock strikes. One, thing I can suggest is take a long way back to your dorm or apartment and really look, and really concentrate on what you are looking at. Breathe and look at your surroundings and you will be washed over with some first week blues, knowing this could be the last time you will be there. Don’t push yourself out of the comfort limits, but really make this semester or year a good one. So when you do take that final walk, you will leave everything with accomplishment, and then after will come the next “first” and that is working that 9 to 5. That is really a first week blues.

Leave a Reply

